Login |

QB Derek Carr - Fresno St. Earns Spot on O’Brien Semifinal List


Derek Carr Earns Spot on O’Brien Semifinal List
Senior Quarterback One of 16 for Prestigious Award

Photo: QB Derek Carr - Fresno St

Senior quarterback Derek Carr of Fresno St. has been selected as one of 16 semifinalists for the 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. Carr has led the Bulldogs to an 8-0 start this season for the first time since 1989 and a #16 ranking in the BCS standings.

Over the 2013 season, Carr has 290 completions of 419 passes with just 4 interceptions. He has completed 69% of his passes for 3061 yards and 28 TD passes. With three games remain and the potential MWC title game looming, he could place the Bulldogs into a BCS game in January. Every remaining game will be seen on national TV that will enhance his chances for several awards – Davey Obrien, Maxwell and the prestigious Heisman Trophy award.

Carr has directed one of the premier passing games in the nation with at least 35 points scored in every contest. He owns 17 school records and 17 Mountain West records and has thrown a TD pass in 28-straight games, which is the longest active streak in the FBS. He has averaged 382.6 yards per game passing that is No. 2 in the FBS and is nearly 40 yards greater than the past five Heisman-winning QBs had averaged through their first eight games of their Heisman-winning seasons.

O’Brien Award - Narrowed down from the starting QBs from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision schools, semifinalists were selected by the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: QB skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2013 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences: SEC (5), Pac-12 (3), AAC (2), ACC (2), Big Ten (1), Big 12 (1), Mid-American (1) and Mountain West (1).

2013 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists
Player / College / Conference

Blake Bortles, UCF, AAC
Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC
Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, AAC
Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC
Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12
Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois, MAC
Sean Mannion, Oregon State, Pac-12
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12
A.J. McCarron, Alabama, SEC
Zach Mettenberger, LSU, SEC
Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC
Bryce Petty, Baylor, Big 12
Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC
Jameis Winston, Florida State, ACC

Frank Coyle is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Jim Thorpe etc for the past 20 years. He writes ‘College Football Mondays’ weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-Star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, CBS Sports, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year round basis related to College and NFL football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals networks in addition to many sports publications and web sites.