Login |

QB Brandon Weeden Tops Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Finalists

QB Brandon Weeden Tops 2011 Johnny Unitas Award Finalists

QB Brandon Weeden – OSU

The list of candidates for the 2011 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm, Award has been narrowed to 10 top college quarterbacks, including Oklahoma St’s Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma ’s Landry Jones, Houston ’s Case Keenum, and Stanford’s Andrew Luck.
Weeden is college football's oldest QB. He turned 28 years old last Friday, as old as half of the current starting NFL QBs. Weeden has only six on 260 passing attempts, while his touchdown total has soared up to 16. Last week against Texas, he set three new school records for passes (60), completions (47) and passing yards (438).

For the 2011 season after six games, he has completed 189 passes of 260 attempts for an amazing 72.7% for 2098 yards with 16 TDs and 6 interceptions. He is on pace to throw for over 4000 yards with 35+ TD passes leading the Cowboys potent passing attack.

2011 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Johnny Unitas award was narrowed from an original field of 25, to 10 college QBs in the running for the Golden Arm Award.

The 10 Finalists for the 2011 Golden Arm Award are:
· Nick Foles - Arizona
· Robert Griffin - Baylor
· Landry Jones - Oklahoma
· Case Keenum - Houston
· Andrew Luck - Stanford
· Kellen Moore - Boise St
· Ryan Tannehill - Texas A & M
· Brandon Weeden - Oklahoma St
· Russell Wilson - Wisconsin
· Tyler Wilson - Arkansas

Named after the man many refer to as the greatest quarterback ever to play football, the prestigious Golden Arm Award is presented annually by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. Candidates for the Golden Arm Award must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with his class. Candidates are judged upon character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and athletic accomplishments.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented on Friday, December 9 in downtown Baltimore. A number of former Baltimore Colts teammates will be there, including Raymond Berry, Jimmy Orr, and Art Donovan.

Since 1987, past winners of the award include Colt McCoy ( Texas , 2009), Matt Ryan ( Boston College , 2007), Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006), Matt Leinart (USC, 2005), Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003), Carson Palmer (USC, 2002), Peyton Manning ( Tennessee , 1997). and Rodney Peete (USC, 1988).

Proceeds from the Golden Arm Awards help to support the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation. The Foundation provides financial assistance to underprivileged and deserving young scholar-athletes throughout Maryland and Kentucky .

The namesake of the Golden Arm Award has a storied history. Johnny Unitas was an 18-year veteran of the NFL, who played his collegiate career at the University of Louisville before joining the Baltimore Colts in 1958. His career passing figures include 2,830 pass completions for 40,239 yards, 290 TD passes and one that may stand forever – throwing a TD pass in 47 consecutive games.

Unitas was inducted into Pro Football’s Hall of Fame in 1979. Further, the Hall of Fame, in commemorations of the NFL’s 25th, 50th, and 75th anniversaries selected Unitas as the top QB k of all-time. In turn-of-the-century listings, he was named to Sports Illustrated list of top 10 athletes, Time Magazine’s list of 10 most influential athletes, and ESPN’s series on the 50 greatest athletes of the century.

For more information, visit www.goldenarmfoundation.com

Frank Coyle is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Thorpe and All-American teams. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He is also a member of the FWAA and voter in College team and player awards.