Login |

Lamar Jackson & Jabrill Peppers Top Maxwell Semifinalists


Lamar Jackson & Jabrill Peppers Head Maxwell Award Semifinalists

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2016 Semifinalists for the 80th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year. The respective list includes a field of 18 candidates for the Maxwell Award selected by the Maxwell Football Club Selection Committee.

Photo – QB Lamar Jackson - Louisville

A very strong field of Maxwell Award semifinalists includes a representative from every Power Five FBS conference as well two student-athletes each from Alabama and Oklahoma. Clemson QB Deshaun Watson, LSU RB Leonard Fournette and Stanford RB Christian McCaffrey are returners from last year's semifinalist list.

Last season, the Maxwell Award was presented to University of Alabama running back Derrick Henry. Henry was selected by the Tennessee Titans in the 2nd round of the NFL Draft 2016.

2016 Maxwell Award Semifinalists:

Jonathan Allen DE Alabama - Senior
Jalen Hurts QB Alabama - Freshman
Deshaun Watson QB Clemson - Junior
Dalvin Cook RB Florida State - Junior
Lamar Jackson QB Louisville - Sophomore
Leonard Fournette RB LSU - Junior
Jabrill Peppers ATH Michigan - Sophomore
Mitch Trubisky QB North Carolina - Junior
J.T. Barrett QB Ohio State - Junior
Baker Mayfield QB Oklahoma - Senior
Dede Westbrook WR Oklahoma - Senior
Saquon Barkley RB Penn State - Sophomore
Donnel Pumphrey RB San Diego State - Senior
Christian McCaffrey RB Stanford - Junior
Trevor Knight QB Texas A&M - Senior
Patrick Mahomes II QB Texas Tech - Junior
Jake Browning QB Washington - Sophomore
Luke Falk QB Washington State - Junior

Semifinalist voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Tuesday November 1st and will close on November 21st. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 22, 2016 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The winners of the 80th Maxwell Award Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, which will be broadcast live on ESPN on December 8, 2016.

Frank Coyle is a long time scout with nationwide ties with coaches, scouts and player agents. He is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe, Biletnikoff etc for the past 20 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites