Login |

Heisman Trophy Award 2013 - Alabama’s A.J. McCarron Gets Vote


One Man’s Vote – Heisman Trophy Award 2013
Alabama’s A.J. McCarron Gets Heisman Trophy Vote Here

Photo – QB A.J. McCarron - Alabama

This year’s Heisman Trophy race may prove to be one of the diverse voting processes in the prestigious history of the coveted award. The Heisman Trophy Award show will be presented on ESPN tonight and will host six candidates for the trophy, the most in history.

The 2013 college football season saw the leaders for the award change almost weekly with the top two honorees, QBs A.J. McCarron, Jameis Winston and Johnny Manziel surfacing to the top of the ballots with strong 2013 season performances.

A.J. McCarron has been nearly flawless over the past three seasons with only a late season loss to Auburn a blemish on this year’s resume. He has elevated the Bama club to a top ranking as an underclassmen and only the last second thriller vs Auburn knocked them from another BCS title game.

He has been amazingly consistent this season with few mistakes and game to game big plays that changed the outcome of key matchups. His performance vs Texas A&M, LSU, Ole Miss and Auburn were all impressive performances on a big stage and national title implications in the balance. Consequently, I voted him the Heisman Trophy award off an outstanding 2013 season and one of the most technically sound and smart leaders in the nation. He has been a difference maker in virtually every game he plays with minimal mistakes vs the highest competition in college football.

Jameis Winston had an outstanding redshirt freshman season, though controversial with an off the field investigation through the 2013 fall. He was cleared of the allegations in December, though it remains to be seen how this could affect the voting. He led the Seminole offense to a #2 national ranking and ACC title with an upcoming BCS title game on the schedule. Despite his strong 2013 showing, he performed against few top 20 clubs with only Duke (10-3), Clemson (9-2) and Miami (9-3) tough opponents. The remaining of their schedule was very weak as they did not play two ACC bowl teams North Carolina and Georgia Tech.

Johnny Manziel will attempt to be the first two time winner since Archie Griffin of Ohio St from the 1970’s. Manziel was the first freshman in history to win the award last season. He struggled in key games vs Alabama and LSU this year that will hurt his chances to repeat.

Frank Coyle’s HeismanTrophy Vote
#1 A.J. McCarron - QB - Alabama
#2 Jameis Winston - QB - Florida St
#3 Johnny Manziel - QB - Texas A&M

The 2013 Winner will be announced live on ESPN tonight Saturday Dec.14th at 8 pm.
Following much anticipation, Heisman Trophy committee announced the record six finalists for this year's award.

The Heisman Trophy Trust revealed the gridiron stars in contention for the prestigious 79th Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy are Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel, Alabama QB A.J. McCarron, Florida St. QB Jameis Winston and Northern Illinois QB Jordan Lynch, along with running backs Tre Mason of Auburn and Andre Williams of Boston College.

The six finalists will be in New York for the live Heisman Trophy announcement tonight, December 14, airing on ESPN at 8:00 pm EST, presented by Nissan North America.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy annually recognizes the outstanding college football player whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity. An electorate comprised of 928 sports journalists and every living former Heisman winner determines the finalists and winner. Included in the electorate is one overall fan vote, an opportunity supported by Nissan North America, Heisman's Premier Partner.

Frank Coyle is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe etc for the past 20 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites.