Login |

Heisman Trophy 2013 Finalists Announced - Manziel, McCarron and Winston Among Record Six Candidates For Prestigious Award


Lynch, Manziel, Mason, McCarron, Williams & Winston Named Finalists For 2013 Heisman Memorial Trophy

The 2013 Winner will be announced live on ESPN this Saturday.
In a season with many standout players throughout college football, the Heisman electorate has officially narrowed the race down to six finalists for the 2013 Heisman Memorial Trophy. Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel ('96) announced on Monday, December 9 that the finalists for the 79th Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy are Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Auburn running back Tre Mason, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron, Boston College running back Andre Williams, and Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston. The announcement of the finalists for the most prestigious award in college football was made on ESPN's 6:00PM telecast of SportsCenter.

A record six finalists were invited to New York City for the Heisman Trophy.
Announcement will be December 14 and broadcast live on ESPN at 8:00PM est.

Lynch would be the first Northern Illinois Huskie and first MAC Conference player to win the Trophy. The senior led his team to a 12-1 season as quarterback with 2,676 passing yards and 23 passing touchdowns. He also rushed for 1,881 yards and 22 touchdowns, averaging 6.9 yards per carry. Lynch completed 233 of 369 passes and was only intercepted 7 times all season. He set the FBS record for single-game rushing yards by a quarterback with 321 and became just the fifth quarterback to rush for at least 4,000 yards and pass for at least 5,000 yards in a career.

Manziel would be the second player ever to win the Heisman Trophy more than once, with Archie Griffin ('74, '75) as the only winner currently with this honor. The sophomore quarterback for Texas A&M passed for 3,732 yards and 33 touchdowns, surpassing his 3,706 passing yards and 26 touchdowns from the 2012 season. Manziel also rushed for 686 yards and 8 touchdowns. He set the Aggies record for touchdown passes in a season with 33 and set another Aggie record of most passing yards in a game with 464 against Alabama.

Mason would be the fourth Auburn Tiger to win the Heisman Trophy and the second in just four years, after Cam Newton's win in 2010. The junior running back rushed for 1,621 yards and 22 rushing touchdowns. Mason also received for 121 yards and returned 395 kickoff yards, scoring one touchdown during a kickoff return. Mason's all-purpose yards this season, at 2,137, surpassed Bo Jackson's Auburn record set in 1985 of 1,859 and his rushing touchdowns broke Cam Newton's record he set in 2010 with 20 rushing touchdowns. Mason set two SEC Championship Game records with 304 rushing yards and 46 carries.

McCarron led the Alabama Crimson Tide to an 11-1 season as the senior quarterback. He passed for 2,676 yards and 26 touchdowns, completing 207 of 306 passes. He was only intercepted five times this season and holds the title of the winningest quarterback in Crimson Tide history. McCarron would become the second Heisman Winner from Alabama after Mark Ingram's win in 2009.

Williams would be the first Boston College Eagle to win the trophy in 29 years, since Doug Flutie's win in 1984. The senior running back rushed for 2,102 yards, scored 17 touchdowns, and averaged 6.4 yards per carry. He is the first Eagle to ever surpass the 2,000 yard rushing mark and set the school record for most yards rushed in a game with 339 yards against North Carolina State. Williams accounted for 51% of BC's offense this season and has the most rushing yards in all of Division I College Football for the 2013 season.

Winston would be only the second freshman to ever win the Heisman Trophy and the third Florida State Seminole, behind Charlie Ward ('93) and Chris Weinke ('00). The quarterback led his team to an undefeated season with 3,820 passing yards and 38 passing touchdowns. Upon surpassing Weinke's 33 touchdown passes, Winston set the new FSU single-season touchdown pass record at 38. Winston and the Seminoles will compete in the BCS National Championship Game in January.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy electorate, which determines the finalists and the winner, is comprised of 928 sports journalists and every living former Heisman winner. The public at large is granted one overall fan vote, thanks to Heisman's Premier Partner, Nissan North America. The electorate is tasked with selecting the outstanding college football player in the United States.

"The 2013 college football season has been one of the most exciting in years," said Rob Whalen, Executive Director of the Heisman Trophy Trust. "We are pleased to welcome these six talented men to New York and look forward to naming one as the newest Heisman Trophy Winner."

Tickets are still available for the 79th Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy Dinner on Monday, December 16 at the New York Marriott Marquis in Times Square. The winner will be presented with his award at this event, where three former Heisman winners will also be recognized: Roger Staubach (Navy, 1963) on the 50th Anniversary of his award, Barry Sanders (Oklahoma State, 1988) on the 25th Anniversary of his award, and Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003) on the 10th Anniversary of his award. The Trust will also recognize NBA Hall of Famer David Robinson as the 2013 Heisman Humanitarian Award winner for his decades-long dedication to helping families in the San Antonio, Texas community.

Frank Coyle is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards – Heisman Trophy, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe etc for the past 20 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites.