Login |

College Football 2011 Awards Finalist - Nagurski, Lombardi, Maxwell, Thorpe

Home Depot College Football Awards Finalist
(listed alphabetically)

*2010 award winner

Photo - Safety Mark Barron - Alabama

Chuck Bednarik Award
College Defensive Player of the Year

Dont'a Hightower, Alabama
Tyrann Mathieu. LSU
Devon Still, Penn State

Biletnikoff Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Receiver

Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State*
Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
Robert Woods, USC

Butkus Award Finalists – Best Linebacker
• Lavonte David, Nebraska
• Dont’a Hightower, Alabama
• Jarvis Jones, Georgia
• Luke Kuechly, Boston College
• Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
• Courtney Upshaw, Alabama

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Placekicker

Randy Bullock, Texas A&M
Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
Caleb Sturgis, Florida

Ray Guy Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Punter

Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech
Steven Clark, Auburn
Jackson Rice, Oregon

John Mackey Award - Outstanding Tight End
Dwayne Allen of Clemson
Orson Charles of Georgia
Tyler Eifert of Notre Dame
Announced as finalists during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special.

Maxwell Award - College Player of the Year
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Kellen Moore, Boise State
Trent Richardson, Alabama

Bronko Nagurski Trophy - Defensive Player of the Year Award
announced by the Football Writers Association of America

Alabama safety Mark Barron
LSU cornerback Morris Claiborne
Boston College linebacker Luke Kuechly
Illinois end Whitney Mercilus
Penn State tackle Devon Still

Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award
Nation's Best Quarterback

Robert Griffin III, Baylor
Case Keenum, Houston
Andrew Luck, Stanford

Outland Trophy Nation's Most Outstanding
Interior Lineman

David DeCastro, Stanford
Barrett Jones, Alabama
Devon Still, Penn State

Jim Thorpe Award - Nation's Most Outstanding Defensive Back
David Amerson, NC State
Mark Barron, Alabama
Morris Claiborne, LSU

Doak Walker Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Running Back

Montee Ball, Wisconsin
LaMichael James, Oregon*
Trent Richardson, Alabama

*2010 award winner

Additionally, the Rimington Award (most outstanding center) will be presented during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show.

The University of Alabama football team was announced as this year's recipient of the Disney Sports Spirit
Award, given annually to the most inspirational figure or team in college football. Alabama was selected for its extraordinary efforts to help aid and rebuild the western Alabama region following last spring's devastating tornado. Long snapper Carson Tinker, who lost his girlfriend Ashley Harrison in the storm, will accept the award on behalf of the team at the award show.

2011 The Home Depot College Football Awards Highlights

* The Home Depot College Football Awards Roundtable Special, a discussion about the Heisman finalists and the year in college football, will begin at 5 p.m. on ESPNU on Thursday, Dec. 8
* The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show - hosted by Erin Andrews, Tom Rinaldi and Dari Nowkhah - will air at 8 p.m. on ESPNU and again after the show at 11 p.m.
* The Home Depot College Football Awards will feature the live presentation of the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contribution to College Football Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award; The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team; the Disney Spirit Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)
The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site, www.NCFAA.org.

Frank Coyle is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe etc for the past 18 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game.