Login |

Biletnikoff Award's Ten 2016 Semifinalists Announced


Biletnikoff Award's Ten 2016 Semifinalists

Receivers John Ross, Dede Westbrook & Corey Davis Head Award Semifinalists:

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, announced the 10 Semifinalists for the 2016 Biletnikoff Award. The secure and confidential electronic voting by the distinguished members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee was conducted from November 7th through November 13th.

Photo - WR Dede Westbrook - Oklahoma

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (tight end, slot receiver and back, inside receiver, wide receiver, split end, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver, not merely the outstanding
wide receiver.

The ten 2016 Biletnikoff Award Semifinalists
selected in voting by the distinguished members of Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee:

Austin Carr - Northwestern University - WR
Corey Davis - Western Michigan University - WR
Amba Etta-Tawo - Syracuse University - WR
Carlos Henderson - Louisiana Tech University - WR
Isaiah "Zay" Jones - East Carolina University - WR
John Ross - University of Washington - WR
Taywan Taylor - Western Kentucky University - WR
Trent Taylor - Louisiana Tech University - WR
James Washington - Oklahoma State University - WR
Dede Westbrook - University of Oklahoma - WR

The 2016 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 8, 2016, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast 7:00 - 9:00pm (EST) on ESPN. College Football Hall of Famer and Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard will present the 2016 Biletnikoff Award winner on the show. Howard is one of only 5 ends or receivers who has won the Heisman Trophy, joining Larry Kelley, Leon Hart, Johnny Rodgers, and Tim Brown.

The correlation between Biletnikoff Award winners and stardom in the National Football League is uncannily predictable. Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the three finalists on November 21, 2016. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and timely, important news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, as well as the FanVote and FanForum discussion board, please consult the Foundation's highly informative website at www.biletnikoffaward.com.

Fred Biletnikoff
The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation (TQC), Inc., created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994.

Frank Coyle is a long-time scout with nationwide ties with coaches, scouts and player agents. He is a long-time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe, Biletnikoff etc for the past 20 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites