Login |

2015 Heisman Finalists - Henry, McCaffrey & Watson


Henry, McCaffrey & Watson
Named 2015 Heisman Finalists

The 2015 Heisman Winner will be announced this Saturday on ESPN.

NEW YORK, NY (December, 2015) - Heisman Trophy winner Ricky Williams ('98) announced tonight that the finalists for the 81st annual Heisman Memorial Trophy are Alabama running back Derrick Henry, Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson. The announcement of the finalists was made on ESPN2's 6:00 PM EST telecast of SportsCenter.

The three finalists will be invited to New York City for the Heisman Trophy announcement on Saturday, December 12, which will broadcast live on ESPN at 8:00 PM EST, presented by Nissan North America.

Derrick Henry – Alabama - Tide's fifth Heisman finalist in the last seven years and the school's seventh overall. The true junior from Yulee, Fla., rumbled his way to an SEC single-season-record 1,986 rushing yards, while tying the conference mark for rushing touchdowns with 23. His rushing yardage total led the nation, as did his number of rushing attempts (339). The 6-3, 242-pounder was just the third running back in SEC history (Herschel Walker and Bo Jackson being the others) to have four 200-yard games in a single season. He would be the second Alabama player (and second Crimson Tide running back) to win the Heisman, joining 2009 winner Mark Ingram. He'd also be the second Heisman winner under Alabama head coach Nick Saban.

Christian McCaffrey – Stanford – Cardinal’s fourth Heisman finalist in the last seven years and the school's fifth overall. The true sophomore running back from Castle Rock, Colo., set the FBS record for single-season all-purpose yardage with 3,496 yards, surpassing the previous standard of 3,250 yards set by Barry Sanders in 1988. McCaffrey showed his versatility by finishing fifth in the nation in rushing with 1,847 yards while also adding 540 yards on 41 receptions and 1,109 yards on kick and punt returns. He scored 12 touchdowns and passed for two more. The 6-0, 201-pounder would be the second Cardinal player to capture the Heisman, joining 1970 winner Jim Plunkett.

Deshaun Watson – Clemson - Tiger's first Heisman finalist and thus would be the school's first Heisman winner. The true sophomore from Gainesville, Ga., passed for 3,512 yards and 30 touchdowns while also rushing for 887 yards and 11 scores. His 4,399 yards of total offense was fourth-best nationally while his combined 41 touchdowns running and passing was second-best among Power 5 conferences. He was the only player in the nation with more than 750 rushing yards and over 3,000 passing yards. The 6-2, 210-pounder was named the ACC Player of the Year as No. 1 Clemson -- the nation's only undefeated team -- recorded its best season since 1981.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy electorate, which selects the finalists and the Heisman winner, is comprised of 928 electors, including 870 media members and 58 former Heisman winners. The public at large is granted one overall fan vote, thanks to Heisman's Premier Partner, Nissan North America.

"We're honored to invite these three outstanding finalists to New York for the 2015 Heisman Trophy ceremony," said Rob Whalen, Executive Director of the Heisman Trophy Trust. "We look forward to celebrating their accomplishments and welcoming one of them into the Heisman family."

Tickets are still available for the 81st Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy Dinner Gala on Monday, December 14 at the New York Marriott Marquis in Times Square. The winner will be presented with his award at this event, where two former Heisman winners will also be recognized: Mike Garrett (USC, 1965) on the 50th Anniversary of his award and Ty Detmer (Brigham Young, 1990) on the 25th Anniversary of his award. The Trust will also recognize former NFL all-star quarterback Boomer Esiason as the 2015 Heisman Humanitarian Award winner for his tireless efforts fighting cystic fibrosis.

Frank Coyle is a long time scout with nationwide ties with coaches, scouts and player agents. He is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe etc for the past 20 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites.