Login |

2013 Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists

The 2013 Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists

QBs Johnny Manziel & AJ McCarron Repeat on Maxwell Award List
Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2013 Semifinalists for the 77th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The respective lists include a field of 16 candidates for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee.

Photo: LB Anthony Barr - UCLA

A very strong field of Maxwell Award semifinalists includes a representative from every major FBS conference as well two student-athletes each from Baylor, Oregon State and Texas A&M. Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel are repeat semifinalists from a season ago.

On the defensive side of the ball, the field of contenders is comprised of fresh faces, all of whom are making their debuts as Bednarik Award semifinalists. Six different conferences are represented, led by five student-athletes from the ACC.

Last season, the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards went to linebacker Manti Te'o of Notre Dame. This was the first time a player was a dual winner of the awards in the Maxwell Football Club's history. Te'o is currently a member of the San Diego Chargers.

The winners of the 77th Maxwell Award and the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast on ESPN on December 12, 2013. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 25, 2013 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on Friday, Feb. 28, 2014 in Atlantic City, N.J.

2013 Maxwell Award Semifinalists:

Tajh Boyd - Sr - QB - Clemson
Teddy Bridgewater - Jr - QB - Louisville
Ka'Deem Carey - Jr - RB - Arizona
Derek Carr - Sr - QB - Fresno State
Brandin Cooks - Jr - WR - Oregon State
Mike Evans - Soph - WR - Texas A & M
Melvin Gordon - Soph - RB - Wisconsin
Sean Mannion - Jr - QB - Oregon State
Johnny Manziel - Soph - QB - Texas A & M
Marcus Mariota - Soph - QB - Oregon
AJ McCarron - Sr - QB - Alabama
Aaron Murray - Sr - QB - Georgia
Bryce Petty - Jr - QB - Baylor
Bishop Sankey - Jr - - RB - Washington
Lache Seastrunk - Jr - RB - Baylor
Jameis Winston - Fr - QB - Florida State

2013 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists:
Player / Last Name / Class / Position / College
Anthony Barr - Sr - LB - UCLA
Vic Beasley - Jr - DE - Clemson
Chris Borland - Sr - LB - Wisconsin
Aaron Donald - Sr - DT - Pittsburgh
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu - Jr - CB - Oregon
Kyle Fuller - Sr - CB - Virginia Tech
Jackson Jeffcoat - Sr - DE - Texas
Lamarcus Joyner - Sr - CB - Florida State
Khalil Mack - Sr - LB - Buffalo
C.J. Mosley - Sr - LB - Alabama
Trent Murphy - Sr - LB - Stanford
Michael Sam - Sr - DE - Missouri
Ryan Shazier - Jr - LB - Ohio State
Kyle Van Noy - Sr - LB - BYU
Nikita Whitlock - Sr - DT - Wake Forest
Leonard Williams - Soph - DE - USC

Frank Coyle is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe etc for the past 20 years. He writes ‘College Football Mondays’ weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, CBS Sports, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals networks, sports publications and web sites.