Login |

2012 College Player Award Finalists

2012 Player Award Finalists

Photo - Outland Trophy Finalists

Finalists for the Outland Trophy
Alabama center Barrett Jones
Texas A&M offensive tackle Luke Joeckel
North Carolina guard Jonathan Cooper.

Finalists for the 76th Maxwell Award
Collin Klein Kansas State Quarterback Senior
Johnny Manziel Texas A&M Quarterback R-Freshman
Manti Te'o Notre Dame Linebacker Senior

Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Year
Sophomore DE Jadeveon Clowney – South Carolina
Junior LB Jarvis Jones – Georgia
Junior CB Dee Milliner – Alabama
Senior LB Manti Te'o – Notre Dame
Junior DE Bjoern Werner – Florida St.

Finalists for the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award
Jadeveon Clowney South Carolina Defensive End Sophomore
Jarvis Jones Georgia Linebacker Junior
Manti Te'o Notre Dame Linebacker Senior

Jadeveon Clowney - University of South Carolina Defensive End
Barrett Jones - University of Alabama Offensive Lineman
Jarvis Jones - University of Georgia Outside Linebacker
Manti Te’o - Notre Dame University Inside Linebacker

Thorpe Award Finalists:
Johnthan Banks, Sr. Mississippi State—A midseason first-team All-American and All-SEC ,Banks ranks first in career interception yards (320) among active players. He has four interceptions in the 2012 season and 16 in his career, ranking third in the FBS. Banks was also named a Senior CLASS Award Finalist.

Dee Milliner, Jr. Alabama—Milliner leads the SEC and ranks second nationally in passes defended (1.78 pg) with 14 pass breakups and two interceptions. In the 2012 season, he has twice had four pass breakups in a game and three versus Missouri. He is also a Bronko Nagurski finalist.

Phillip Thomas, Sr. Fresno State—Thomas has eight interceptions on the season, leading the FBS and two more than any other player in the nation and more than 35 bowl subdivision teams. He set a Fresno State record and tied the Mountain West record for interceptions returned for touchdowns in a single season with three.

John Mackey Award
Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame (SR, 6-6 251 lb.)
Zach Ertz, Stanford (SR, 6-6 247 lb.)
Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington (SO, 6-6 258 lb.)

Frank Coyle is a long time member of the FWAA and voter in College player awards - Heisman, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi, Thorpe etc for the past 18 years. He writes College Football Mondays weekly during the season. He is a longtime scouting consultant for the Senior Bowl, the nation’s premier postseason All-star game. He does sports radio shows for ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports and Sporting News on a year round basis related to College Football especially during the postseason team and All-star Bowl time. He has worked for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Yahoo and Rivals sports publications and web sites.